Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 29th, 2008

CLOSE TO MY HEART

I remember, when I was young, studying in 4th or 5th standard we all friends in my neighbour had joined so called ‘Shaka’. This was the group (no idea if it existed now) started by some people who considered themselves as ‘Great Hindus’ of India. I am not much inclined towards favouring one religion and at the same time saying insane things about other religion. That tender age, we were least bother to hear their long lectures but more interested in the new games they used to teach us. One day, we all were sitting together forming a cicle and our Didi was imparting some speech. A boy named Birju (no one was knowing his real name, but this was the name we all had kept) came from behind and started beating one girl who was sitting besides me. We were just paralyzed with fear and after some time regaining our consciousness we moved hurriedly here and there trying to find some place to hide. Birju was suffering from Down’s syndrome. He always showed abnormal behaviour towards either by beating him/her or stealing his/her things if that person had acted badly with him. No one left in the garden where we were sitting except our Didi and Birju. Didi was looking so calm as if nothing touched her because of this happening. She went closer to Birju and took his hand and started talking to him. I couldn’t hear anything but I could see her love and affection towards Birju. After sometime, she called two-three girls to have friendship with him, but no one turned-up. I don’t know what happened to me, I went and stood in-front of him. That time, he smiled and moved his hand towards me to shake. I felt awe because of his behavior. From that time, he was good friend of mine. I learnt these people just needs your love and nothing else. My friends used to say to me, how could I talk so comfortably with him. We shifted from that place after 1year and I have no contact with him. But he gave a very important lesson to me – a love to be shared with everyone, a love to be given to people who needs most.

One of my aunt’s daughter is also suffering from this syndrome. I salute my aunt for her courage in bringing-up her daughter. I was really surprised when I met S first time. She greeted me with such a kind gesture that I can’t explain. I just love her smile. 🙂

I feel a unbridle enthusiasm towards these special (infact, I should not use the word ‘special’) and old people. My mom always says old people needs the same care as a child of 4-5 years. Just wanted to say, whoever will read this entry, if you find any an old begger, don’t forget to give him/her something.  There must be many difficulties that he had faced and we can’t neglect everyone because of mischievous acts by someone.

 

Read Full Post »